You are Being too Creative, that is why Nobody Wants to Read Your Story

Dozie Ethelbert
6 min readJun 29, 2022

This is what you should do instead

content copywriting on the page of a book
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

Wondering why you are so much of a writer, you read your write-ups and you feel like the internet is going to buzz when you eventually share your post. You assume they are actually going to feel the same way you are feeling right now because of that piece you just wrote.

You spend hours, 24 or more, just to craft a wonderful and original piece, and then, the worse happens. Your post keeps disappearing in the air and you finally give up.

Can anyone relate to such an experience? Because I for sure, do. Not just once. I have taken out hours to write posts I felt will move the world and suddenly it seemed like an abandoned property gathering cobwebs in a lost wood. When I say I connect, that is the typical experience with my very first post here on Medium (The Crises Around this Age, 30) which I published on the 1st of July, 2020.

This post took me almost a week to get done. The truth is, it wasn’t because of the technicalities involved in writing the post because the post was based on the pressures I have seen people go through before they are 30. So it would have been easier to write, being that it is a story I can connect with.

For some innate reasons, I was writing to make a million impressions with that single post and likely be good enough to be distributed by Medium. Guess what? That never happened. Then, I retired. I left publishing for months until I got my muse to write again.

When I came back, I was basically coming to test the waters. At that point, I had lost confidence. Not knowing if I should blame Medium for my post that wasn’t distributed or blame myself for not being a “good enough writer.”

But I discovered something about my writings from that story, and it could be similar to yours. And this is how I would address the title I used for this post.

I was trying to write my Best

The very first challenge was to write to perfection. To contend with top writers on Medium. I also remember it took me about 2 months after I signed up for an account on Medium to make my first post. Why did it take me that long?

It was because I was looking for perfect timing, perfect condition, and eventually to write the best post. Which I eventually did, and it wasn’t read by anybody.

I see writing presently, just like me speaking. All I would have to do is to crystalize my thoughts into written words. At first, it may not look nice, because I am trying to write the way I talk. When I am done writing it that way, I would then arrange my thoughts. With that, a piece is out and ready for you to read. This is the trick I used for this post as well.

I had to work on the feeling of “not too good enough” because that was how I would normally feel earlier when I try crafting a piece. And for sure, I will end up not finishing that thought.

I just kept writing

When I started publishing my posts on Medium, the algorithm suggested a lot of “how I wrote x or y thousand words a day.” Rather than such posts becoming a motivation for me, they became a stumbling block. Imagine telling someone battling with 200 to 300 words about writing 1000 words a day. It is going to sound crazy and impossible.

I would rather realize that it is just fine to write 200 words or fewer of creative writing, so long as you can maintain so every single day.

Consistency

Writing can be anything you want it to be. It all depends on what you wish to give all in. This was what I discovered.

As simple as the word “consistency” is easy to say, it could be so difficult to practice. No matter how bad people may think your posts or writings seem, once you can maintain an unbreakable 30 to 60 days plan of writing, it will keep getting better by the day. And you may never know which article would go viral.

Aside from going viral, you are becoming a better writer. The goal shouldn’t be to write 3,000 words every day, it is about starting with keeping up with 300 words every day.

If you’ve successfully written at least 300 words a day, for 60 days, that will be about 18,000 words, which isn’t bad. You might not have been able to achieve that with wishful thinking.

I have listed what would have been a challenge to me as I thought I was so much of a creative writer, and what I eventually did. However, the other points are what we should do together while we keep improving on our writing and how it influences the community of people who are interested.

Join a community of writers

Join a community of similar interest writers, see their challenges, and also read about how they are overcoming those challenges.

Ask questions and also answer the questions you know and possibly build your personal network from there.

Also, follow those writers that inspire you.

Take some courses on writing

Don’t think you know enough, no matter how good you are becoming, this is because things are dynamic and change.

On Udemy, there are short courses you could take from facilitators. Even if you don’t know the right keyword to search for, just type “writing” and the word extensions will follow. From there, you can choose the one that suits your needs. You will even find courses on writing on Medium.

Also, check facilitators with good ratings. Pay and follow up on their courses.

There are other factors you should consider if you wish your posts to gain attention on the platforms you write for.

Invest in writing tools/software

Take out time to research tools and software that can make your work better and also help you deliver on time.

One of such tools is Grammarly, and you can use the free version for spelling and sentence checks. If you can afford the premium version, then pay for it. It is a good tool, and it is going to make your editing work better.

You can check other tools to help with your writing needs.

Start engaging with other people’s story

When you read an interesting post, which you also have an idea about, you can leave a comment and also add more contributions to what you read.

Over time, people will start visiting your profile and will read your posts as well. This will also help grow your followership.

Study the platform and posts that did well

Before you join any platform, observe how things are done and follow suit. Try to check the posts that went viral and what possibly made them do so. From their headings to the body, to images, and tags.

You can only improve on the process, but you don’t have to change it. If not, you would be happy doing what you think is right, but will not get the required results.

Understand your audience and write what they would like to read

It is one thing to write in a particular niche, and also another to know what your audience is reading and why they take their time to read. Mind you, many of them reading your post are not just coming to be entertained, they want to find a solution.

Look for influencers in that niche you want to write about, see what their contents are usually about and why their readers engage. One way to find their interest is in the comment section.

You can infuse your style with what people are reading. But don’t just stick to writing it your way.

--

--

Dozie Ethelbert

Founder www.dozyhub.com and vast content creator with years of experience. Follow me on IG @dozie_ethelbert.